PEr FYI

June 12, 2016

Restoran Silva’s Curry House, Subang Jaya…a fabulous teatime treat

This restaurant made the news fairly recently for all the wrong reasons…for unjustifiably spiking their prices. But the show must go on. They should be noticed for their food.

The onion bhaji was probably my first introduction to the joys of this eatery so I feel I owe my long-time bud, Dr Soma, a considerable debt of thanks for  this simple snack . They’re almost ethereally light and addictively crisp. Onions are onions. For me, the difference between a great bhaji and a merely adequate one is in the crunch – as with all deep-fried foods, it should fight back – and Silva’s are particularly feisty. I am big fan of south Indian food and that’s why I absolutely love the vada here…crispy fried Indian donuts….light and fluffy on the inside with a crisp exterior, packed with flavor.

Their Bru coffee with full cream milk was a heavy mouth feel, a rounded and balanced profile and a beautiful sweetness. It was love at first sip.

I’d like to describe Silva’s as a “hidden pearl”, but I’m probably the last gourmand in Subang to dine there. This is the true truth as I say it as it is…

siva kl2

siva kl3

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

