PEr FYI

August 4, 2013

Tim Ho Wan, Hong Kong…If I lived here, I would eat this everyday

When I was done with lunch at around 12.45pm, people were queuing to get a seat in this tiny restaurant at Northpoint where diners – a mix of Hong Kong families, elderly friends, and the odd solo diner – cram elbow-to-elbow. Michelin gave it a star in 2010, netting it the auspicious title of cheapest Michelin-starred restaurant in the world. In this simple, no-frills eatery with minimum service and fuss, simply sit at your table and choose what you want by ticking the options on a sheet of paper, and let the staff do the rest.

It’s definitely worth braving the queue for the outstanding baked bun with BBQ pork (cha siu bao).  They are usually served steamed but, here, they are baked: the slightly crisp sugar glaze around the crumbling crispy pastry bun contrasting with a savoury gentle stew of pillow-soft meat chunks swaddled in slightly sweet sauce inside. The perfectly steamed rich and plump pork dumpling with shrimp (siew mai) were piping hot and so, so, so good. The chewy bouncy vermicelli roll stuffed with fleshy shrimp (cheong fun) were excellent too. Doused with a sweet soy sauce, I loved this dish.

The dim sum here is the best in its class: simple, fresh and generally light on grease. If I lived here, I would eat this everyday. This is the true truth as I say it as it is…

baked buns with bbq pork - tim ho wan

cheong fun - tim ho wan

siew mai - tim ho wan

 

2 Comments »

  1. Interesting

    Comment by Mike P — August 5, 2013 @ 5:57 am

  2. I’ve been surfing on-line more than 3 hours nowadays, yet I by no means discovered any fascinating article like yours. It’s lovely value enough for me. Personally, if all website owners and bloggers made just right content material as you did, the internet might be a lot more useful than ever before.

    Comment by My pham Han Quoc, cc cream, bb cream, My pham, my pham han quoc, Mỹ phẩm, the face shop, mỹ phẩm hàn quốc, my pham han quoc, myphamxachtay, my pham xach tay, my pham han quoc, tui xach thoi trang, tui xach da cao cap, my pham korea, my pham cao — August 10, 2013 @ 11:02 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

